This sprawling, 142-acre complex includes the famous Almshouse, a working blacksmith shop, and living historians who tell the story of farming in Maryland.
Photo By: Carroll County Farm Museum
in 1797 and now a museum, Union Mills has a remarkable history. It was a stopping point for Confederate forces on the march towards Gettysburg, then became headquarters for Union General James Barnes after the invaders retreated. The working grist mill offers a fascinating window into centuries-old technology.
Photo By: Carroll County Office of Tourism