Camp Stanton

Prince Frederick Rd, Hughesville, MD 20637 Get Directions 
Camp stanton sign
This former Union encampment was established in 1863 for the recruitment and training of black soldiers, some who had recently escaped enslavement. Now empty fields, visitors can travel an African-American heritage paddling trail along the Patuxent River to the site. The site may also be viewed from the south side of Route 231, Prince Frederick Road.A National Park Service National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom site.